2018 IEEE-CS TCHPC Award Winners

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 30 September 2018

IEEE Computer Society (IEEE-CS) selects Lin Gan of Tsinghua University and the National Supercomputing Center in Wuxi, Min Si of Argonne National Laboratory, and Edgar Solomonik of University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, as 2018 winners of the IEEE-CS Technical Consortium on High Performance Computing (TCHPC) Early Career Researchers Award for Excellence in High Performance Computing.

Dr. Lin Gan is the assistant director, and director of the R&D center, at the National Supercomputing Center in Wuxi. He is also an assistant research fellow in the department of Computer Science at Tsinghua University, where he received his PhD in computer science at 2016.

His research interests include high-performance solutions to scientific applications based on state-of-the-art platforms such as CPU, FPGAs, and GPUs. He is currently leading several major projects to develop highly-efficient software and tools for the Chinese homegrown Sunway CPUs, and to look for novel architectures for next-generation supercomputing systems.

Dr. Gan has more than 30 high-quality publications, and is the recipient of the 2016 Gordon Bell Prize, the finalist of the 2017 Gordon Bell Prize, the Most Significant Paper Award in 25 Years awarded by FPL 2015, and the 2017 Tsinghua-Inspur Computational Earth Science Young Researcher Award.

Dr. Min Si is an assistant computer scientist in the Mathematics and Computer Science Division at Argonne National Laboratory. Si’s research interests include communication runtime in high-performance computing and parallel programming models. She is leading the MPI RMA and OpenSHMEM research at Argonne and contributing to the widely used MPICH library.

Si received her master’s degree and Ph.D. in computer science from the University of Tokyo, Japan, in 2012 and 2016, respectively. From 2016 to April 2018, she was an Enrico Fermi Fellow at Argonne National Laboratory.

Si won the Karsten Schwan Best Paper Award at HPDC 2018. She was awarded the Dean’s Award for Outstanding Achievement Doctoral Course from the University of Tokyo in 2016 and the Computer Science Research Award for Young Scientists from the Information Processing Society of Japan in 2012. Her work appears in major HPC conferences and journals including SC, HPDC, IPDPS, ICS, and TPDS.

Dr. Edgar Solomonik is an Assistant Professor in the Scientific Computing group of the Department of Computer Science at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He received his BS also at the University of Illinois, his PhD at University of California, Berkeley, and was a postdoctoral fellow at ETH Zurich.

Solomonik’s research has developed more scalable numerical algorithms and high-performance computing libraries. His research group, the Laboratory for Parallel Numerical Algorithms, leads the development of the Cyclops library for tensor computations, which encapsulates optimized communication-avoiding algorithms using a high-level language for tensor algebra. Cyclops has enabled groundbreaking simulations of electronic structure and quantum circuits, while also being applied to graph and data analysis.

Solomonik has been the recipient of the Alston Householder prize in numerical linear algebra, the UC Berkeley David Sakrison prize, the NERSC award for Innovative Use of High-Performance Computing, and the ACM-IEEE George Michael HPC Fellowship.

The IEEE-CS TCHPC Award for Excellence for Early Career Researchers in High Performance Computing is sponsored by the IEEE-CS Technical Consortium on High Performance Computing (TCHPC) and its member Technical Committees:

  • Technical Committee on Parallel Process (TCPP)
  • Technical Committee on Computer Communications (TCCC)
  • Technical Committee on Distributed Processing (TCDP)
  • Technical Committee on Cloud Computing (TCCLD)
  • Task Force on Rebooting Computing (TFRC)
  • Technical Committee on Computational Life Sciences (TCCLS).

The TCHPC Award recognizes up to three individuals who have made outstanding, influential, and potentially long-lasting contributions in the field of high-performance computing within five years of receiving their PhD degree as of January 1 of the year of the award.

Awardees will be presented a plaque and will be recognized by IEEE Computer Society’s TCHPC and its member Technical Committees websites, newsletters and archives.

IEEE-CS will present the awards at the SC18 conference held in Dallas, Texas, USA, November 11 – 16, 2018. Details of the conference are available at http://sc18.supercomputing.org.

Visit the official IEEE-CS TCHPC page at http://tc.computer.org/tchpc/home-page/page-of-awards/.

For information about all IEEE-CS awards, visit http://www.computer.org/awards.