IEEE TCHPC ECR 2019 Awards Ceremony (l to r): Jack Dongarra (SC19 Awards Chair); 2019 IEEE TCHPC Award Winners: Guillaume Aupy Pallez, Xu Liu and Yufei Ding; Manish Parashar (IEEE TCHPC Chair); Vladimir Getov (2019 IEEE TCHPC Award Committee Chair)

2019 IEEE-CS TCHPC Award Winners

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 4 October 2019

IEEE Computer Society (IEEE-CS) selects Yufei Ding of University of California at Santa Barbara, Xu Liu of College of William & Mary, and Guillaume Aupy Pallez of Inria Bordeaux Sud-Ouest and the University of Bordeaux, as 2019 winners of the IEEE-CS Technical Consortium on High Performance Computing (TCHPC) Early Career Researchers Award for Excellence in High Performance Computing.

Dr. Yufei Ding joined the Department of Computer Science, University of California at Santa Barbara as an Assistant Professor in Nov 2017. She received her Ph.D. in Computer Science from North Carolina State University, and B.S. and M.S. in Physics from the University of Science and Technology of China and the College of William & Mary, respectively. In 2012, she started her Ph.D. study in Computer Science.

Prof. Ding’s research interest resides at the intersection of Compiler Technology and (Big) Data Analytics, with a focus on algorithmic autotuning, high-performance data analytics, and quantum computing. Yufei has been actively publishing in major venues in both computer systems and data analytics areas, such as ASPLOS, PLDI, OOPSLA, VLDB, ICDE, ICLR, and ICML. She was the receipt of the NCSU Computer Science Outstanding Research Award in 2016 and the Computer Science Outstanding Dissertation Award in 2018.

Dr. Xu Liu is an assistant professor in the Department of Computer Science at College of William & Mary. He obtained his Ph.D. from Rice University in 2014 and joined the College of William & Mary in the same year. Prof. Liu works on building performance tools to pinpoint and optimize inefficiencies in HPC code bases. He has developed several open-source profiling tools, which are world-widely used at universities, DOE national laboratories, and industrial companies.

Prof. Liu has published a number of papers in high-quality venues. His papers received Best Paper Award at SC’15, PPoPP’18, PPoPP’19, and ASPLOS’17 Highlights, as well as Distinguished Paper Award at ICSE’19. His recent ASPLOS’18 paper has been selected as ACM SIGPLAN Research Highlights in 2019 and nominated for CACM Research Highlights. Prof. Liu served on the program committee of major HPC-related conferences such as SC, PPoPP, IPDPS, CGO, HPCA, and ASPLOS.

Dr. Guillaume Aupy Pallez is a researcher at Inria Bordeaux Sud-Ouest and Labri laboratory of the University of Bordeaux. He received his PhD from ENS Lyon in 2014.

His research interests include algorithm design and scheduling techniques for parallel platforms, as well as performance evaluation of parallel systems. Some of his recent work revolves around the idea of designing efficient scheduling strategies to deal with applications with stochastic profiles (execution time, memory needs). He has worked on data-aware scheduling at the different levels of the memory hierarchy – cache, main memory, buffers, and disks. Finally, he has also developed efficient scheduling strategies for automatic differentiation and back-propagation on bounded memory systems.

Dr. Pallez served as the Technical Program vice-chair for SC’17, as well as workshop chair and inclusivity vice-chair at SC’18. He was also the algorithm track vice-chair for ICPP’18.

The IEEE Computer Society TCHPC Early Career Researchers Award for Excellence in High Performance Computing is sponsored by the IEEE-CS Technical Consortium on High Performance Computing (TCHPC) and its member Technical Committees:

  • Technical Committee on Parallel Process (TCPP)
  • Technical Committee on Computer Communications (TCCC)
  • Technical Committee on Distributed Processing (TCDP)
  • Technical Committee on Cloud Computing (TCCLD)
  • Task Force on Rebooting Computing (TFRC)
  • Technical Committee on Computational Life Sciences (TCCLS).

The TCHPC Award recognizes up to three individuals who have made outstanding, influential, and potentially long-lasting contributions in the field of high-performance computing within five years of receiving their PhD degree as of January 1 of the year of the award.

Awardees will be presented a plaque and will be recognized by IEEE Computer Society’s TCHPC and its member Technical Committees websites, newsletters and archives.

IEEE-CS will present the awards at the SC19 conference held in Denver, CO, USA, November 18 – 21, 2019. Details of the conference are available at

For more details, visit the official IEEE-CS TCHPC page at

For information about all IEEE-CS awards, visit