IEEE TCMC Award Recipients

IEEE TCMC Awards 2023

IEEE TCMC Impact Award
Bhavani Thuraisingham, University of Texas at Dallas, USA
For Pioneering Contributions to Securing Multimedia Data Management Systems and Their Impact on the Research, Education, and Application Communities.

IEEE TCMC Awards 2022

IEEE TCMC Mid-Term Career Award
Qi Wang, Northwestern Polytechnical University, China
For his outstanding contributions to collaborative analysis and semantic understanding of multimedia data.
IEEE TCMC Rising Star Award
Xin Wang, Tsinghua University, China
For his contributions in multimedia representation learning and its applications.

IEEE TCMC Awards 2021

IEEE TCMC Impact Award
Yong Rui, Lenovo Group, Corporate CTO, Fellow of ACM/IEEE
For outstanding contributions to both multimedia research and product development for the past 25 years.
IEEE TCMC Mid-Career Award
Weiyao Lin, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
For his outstanding work in the multimedia semantic information understanding, processing, and compression. His novel techniques have been widely adopted by both academia and industry.
IEEE TCMC Service Award
Mei-Ling Shyu, University of Miami, USA
For her outstanding service to TCMC and the Multimedia Computing Community and the outstanding leadership demonstrated throughout her terms as the Chair for TCMC.


IEEE TCMC Awards 2020

Profile picture IEEE TCMC Impact Award
Jay Kuo, University of Southern California, USA
For outstanding contributions to multimedia computing technologies in terms of research & development and as an inspiring educator.
IEEE TCMC Rising Star Award
Lianli Gao, University of Electronic Science and Technology of China, China
For contributions towards improving visual understanding by integrating natural language processing techniques.
Sethuraman Panchanathan IEEE TCMC Service Award
Sethuraman Panchanathan, Arizona State University, USA
For outstanding service to the multimedia community and pioneering contributions to assistive technology and haptics.


IEEE TCMC Awards 2019

IEEE TCMC Impact Award
Ramesh Jain, University of California, Irvine, CA, USA
For pioneering and wide-spread impact to multimedia computing for the past four decades.
IEEE TCMC Rising Star Award
Ting Yao, JD AI Research, Beijing, China
For contributions in video content recognition and description generation.
IEEE TCMC Service Award
Shu-Ching Chen, Florida International University, Miami, FL, USA
For outstanding service and inspiring leadership to the IEEE Technical Committee on Multimedia Computing and the Multimedia Computing community.