TCMF Distinguished Service Award

The award is given by a decision of the TCMF and FOCS steering committee, whenever a worthy person materializes, in recognition of dedicated and indispensable service to the theory community at large, and to TCMF and FOCS in particular. Nominations are not solicited, but any member of the theory of computing community may propose at any time a candidate to the steering committee.

The award is presented at the business meeting of the earliest FOCS following the decision to award it. At most, one award (possibly recognizing joint effort) is given at each FOCS.

Past Winners

  • 2019 – Sandy Irani                            announcement
    for her chairing of the SafeToC ad-hoc committee and her dedicated involvement in adopting and implementing its recommendations at FOCS and many other theory conferences.
  • 2018 – Paul Beame