PAMI Young Researcher Award

This annual award recognizes a young researcher for their distinguished research contribution to computer vision. The award is given out by the IEEE Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence (PAMI) Technical Committee, and the selection is managed by the PAMI-TC awards committee. The winner will be announced annually at the IEEE Conference on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition (CVPR).

View the list of previous awardees here.

About the Award

This award is made annually for a distinguished research contribution in computer vision by a young researcher within seven years of their PhD.

The award includes a 3,000 USD cash prize and a plaque. The winners will be listed on the PAMI-TC web site.

Nominating a Candidate

A nomination for the award should consist of:

  1. 1The full name and contact details of the nominator, who should hold a senior position within his or her organization. It is acceptable for this to be the same organization as the nominee.
  2. The full name and contact details of the nominee.
  3. A description provided by the nominator in up to 300 words, of the distinguished research contribution in computer vision of the nominee, and its importance, in a form accessible to a general computing science audience.
  4. A CV of up to 2 pages of the nominee (including 5 most important publications).
  5. A Publication list of all published articles of the nominee. (Please do not include “accepted” but not yet published articles as these will not be taken into account.)
  6. The name and email address of two referees who would be able to provide independent assessments of the nominee’s research contribution and who are based in different institutions than the nominator and the nominee. The nominator is responsible for contacting these referees directly, who should send their letters directly to


Nominations should be in the form of a single electronic file in pdf format. The name of the nominator and the nominee must be in the title of the file. Nominations should be sent by the nominator by the deadline set by the PAMI TC Chair to

Past Awardees

2023 Judy Hoffman
2023 Christoph Feichtenhofer
2022 Bharath Hariharan
2022 Olga Russakovsky
2021 Georgia Gkioxari
2021 Phillip Isola
2020 Jon Barron
2020 Deqing Sun
2019 Karen Simonyan
2018 Andreas Geiger
2018 Kaiming He
2017 Ross Girshick
2017 Julien Mairal
2016 Ce Liu
2016 Abhinav Gupta
2015 John Wright
2014 Derek Hoiem
2014 Jamie Shotton
2013 Anat Levin
2013 Kristen Grauman
2012 Deva Ramanan