2021 IEEE TCPP Outstanding Service and Contributions Award

This award recognizes an individual (or a group of individuals) community who has made major professional service contributions to the parallel, distributed and high-performance computing community. Contributions include (but are not limited to) volunteering in professional meetings (TCPP-sponsored as well as others), serving on editorial boards, organizing major events, developing community resources, and leading international outreach. Contributions are not limited to the 2020 calendar year.

Nomination rules:

  1. A candidate may be nominated by members of the community.
    2. Self-nominations are not eligible.
    3. An individual may nominate at most one candidate for this award.

Nomination data: The nomination should include
1. Name/email of person making the nomination
2. Name/email of candidate for whom the award is recommended
3. A statement by the nominator (maximum of 500 words) describing why the nominee is highly deserving of the award and a brief summary of the service contributions
4. CV of the nominee
5. Up to three support letters from persons other than the nominator; these should be collected by the nominator and included in the nomination

Nomination deadline is April 12, 2021. Please email your nominations to Karen Devine at

Selection committee:  Sanjukta Bhowmick (U. North Texas); Florina Ciorba (U. Basel); Karen Devine (Sandia National Laboratories, chair); Xiaoye Sherry Li (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory); Kengo Nakajima (U. Tokyo), Erik Saule (U. North Carolina-Charlotte), Martin Schulz (TU-Munich).

Past recipients include: Srinivas Aluru, David Bader, Susamma Barua, Azzedine Boukerche, Franck Cappello, Umit V. Catalyurek, Jean-Luc Gaudiot, Allan Gottlieb, Manish Parashar, William S. Pitts, Sushil Prasad, Viktor Prasanna, Sanjay Ranka, Yves Robert, Arnold Rosenberg, Sartaj Sahni, Sally J. Westrom, and Albert Zomaya.