Service Awards

The IEEE VGTC Service Award recognizes extraordinary service to the community through the IEEE VGTC and/or the IEEE VGTC Sponsored Conferences and Symposia.

2022 VGTC Visualization Service Award: Gautam Chaudhary

In recognition for his service in critical roles for the VIS conference including Student Volunteer Chair (2007-2008), Finance Chair (2009), Program Chair (2010-2023), Virtual Conference Chair (2020-222) and Ombuds Committee (2019-2023), as well as his service on the VGTC Executive Committee (sine 019) and the VIS Executive Committee (since 2021).

2022 VGTC VR Service Award: Kiyoshi Kiyokawa

for his dedication, support, and many years of service contributions to the VR/AR academic community in operational capacity and in numerous leadership roles.

2021 VGTC Visualization Service Award: Loretta Auvil

for the dedicated expertise and leadership she has provided to the visualization and visual analytics community through more than two decades of service as a finance chair of the VIS conference as well as her long-term service as finance chair of VGTC.

Former Service Award Recipients

These are awards made prior to 2020 award reorganization.

IEEE Meritorious Service Award

A certificate presented for meritorious and significant service to any Society-sponsored activity. Qualification is enhanced by the level and number of contributions, excellence, dedication and tenure of service. Meritorious Service Awards have been granted by IEEE to the VGTC Chairpersons for their successful development of the Visualization and Graphics Technical Community and service to its conferences, symposia, and other activities.

Recipient Affiliation Term of Service
Tamara Munzner University of British Columbia 2018
Klaus Mueller Stony Brook University 2012-2015
Rachael Brady CISCO 2013
Amitabh Varshney University of Maryland 2008-2012
Hanspeter Pfister Mitsubishi Electric Research Laboratories (MERL) 2004-2008
William Ribarsky University of North Carolina, Charlotte 2004
Robert Moorhead Mississippi State University 1999-2001
Gregory Nielson Arizona State University 1995
Arie Kaufman Stony Brook University 1995
Lawrence Rosenblum Naval Research Laboratory 1995
R. Bowen Loftin Old Dominion University, USA 2005


IEEE Outstanding Contribution Award

A certificate awarded for an achievement of major value and significance to the Computer Society. The achievement should be a specific, concisely characterized accomplishment, as opposed to a collection of different efforts. The co-founders of the Visualization Conference received the Outstanding Contribution Award in 1994 for their achievement in initiating and developing the conference, the first of which was held in 1990.

Recipient Affiliation Term of Service
Lawrence Rosenblum Naval Research Laboratory 1992
Gregory Nielson Arizona State University 1992
Arie Kaufman Stony Brook University 1992
Carol Hunter Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory 1992
Bruce Brown Oracle 1992


IEEE Certificate of Appreciation

A certificate presented for creditable service to any Computer Society activity or program. Since 2000, VGTC as presented this award to its conference and symposia chairpersons.