The IEEE VGTC Visualization Academy

The IEEE Visualization Academy (or in short Vis Academy) was established in 2018 by the IEEE VGTC Executive Committee, with the inaugural “class” of inductees to include all the Visualization Career Awardees and all the Visualization Technical Achievement Awardees, from 2004 to 2019, for a total of 30 unique inductees. Induction into the Vis Academy is the highest and most prestigious honor in the field of visualization.

The Vis Academy is a prestigious academy, the “visualization technology hall of fame” or the “visualization fellows assembly”, and will highlight the accomplishments of the research leaders of the field of visualization that will indirectly underscore the accomplishments of the entire field. In addition to being an honorary academy, the academy will be called upon to provide technical leadership, mentoring and fostering new talents, and other community services, as necessary.

2020 Inductees

Leila DeFloriani
Jean-Daniel Fekete
Jessie Kennedy
Bongshin Lee
Shixia Liu
Silvia Miksch
Catherine Plaisant
Huamin Qu

Penny Rheingans
Heidrun Schumann
Han-Wei Shen
Deborah Silver
Robert Spence
Maureen Stone
Colin Ware

2019 Inductees (Inaugural Class)

Stuart Card
Sheelagh Carpendale
John C. Dill
David S. Ebert
Thomas Ertl
Eduard Gröller
Markus Gross
Hans Hagen
Pat Hanrahan
Charles Hansen
Jeffrey Heer
Christopher R. Johnson
Ken Joy
Arie E. Kaufman
Daniel Keim

David Laidlaw
Kwan-Liu Ma
Bill Lorensen
Jock Mackinlay
Tamara Munzner
Gregory Nielson
Hanspeter Pfister
Frits Post
Lawrence Rosenblum
Ben Shneiderman
Claudio Silva
John Stasko
Amitabh Varshney
J.J. van Wijk
Anders Ynnerman