Technical Committee on Mathematical Foundations of Computing

The Technical Committee on Mathematical Foundations of Computing (TCMF) of the Computer Society focuses on the theory of computation. Theory of computation uses mathematical tools to model and analyze the power, complexity, and design of computing devices, algorithms, and programs. It also uses these mathematical tools to model and study natural and social phenomena through the computational lens.

Follow us on Twitter: @IeeeTcmf

The annual Symposium on Foundations of Computer Science (FOCS), which presents original research on the theory of computation, is the founding conference of the field and TCMF’s flagship activity which will celebrate its 60th anniversary this year. The TC also cosponsors in cooperation with ACM SIGLOG the annual Symposium on Logic in Computer Science (LICS) which has recently celebrated its 30th anniversary.

TC chair: Shang-Hua Teng

TC vice chair: Venkatesan Guruswami

Former TC chairs: Yuval Rabani, Rafail Ostrovsky

FOCS steering committee: Avrim Blum, Shafi Goldwasser, Venkatesan Guruswami, Rafail Ostrovsky, Toniann Pitassi, Yuval Rabani, Shang-Hua Teng