Call for 2024 TCI Distinguished Service Award nominations 

The TCI Distinguished Service Award is given to an individual with distinguished service to the Internet research community (as defined by the TCI scope), and will be announced and presented to the awardee during ACM/IEEE Symposium on Edge Computing (SEC) in Rome, Italy in December 2024. Any individual — whether from academia, industry, or government — is eligible for the award, and will be evaluated based on his or her service contributions to the community. Self-nominations are not accepted.

Examples of achievements include but are not limited to the following:

  • Catalyzing new Internet research communities
  • Leadership in journal editorial processes
  • Leadership in organizing established conferences or starting new conferences
  • Leadership in creating new research opportunities for the community (e.g., organizing and leading a significant new research institute or center, shaping the programs of funding agencies such as NSF, etc)
  • Leadership in societies relevant to the TCI scope
  • Leadership in Internet standardization activities (e.g., IETF, W3C)

The nomination package must include:

  1. The current CV of the nominee;
  2. A nominating letter (limited to 500 words) highlighting the nominee’s service to the Internet research community; and
  3. A support letter from another individual (not the nominee or the nominator) of no more than 250 words.

Please submit nominations by email to The deadline for nominations is August 31st, 2024 (anywhere on Earth).

The evaluation committee for 2024 consists of the following members:

Qun Li (College of William & Mary)
George Pallis (University of Cyprus)
Weisong Shi, Chair (University of Delaware)

The committees reserve the right to seek external opinions during the processing of candidates applications.

Past Awardees

Dr. Michael N. Huhns, NCR Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Computer Science and Engineering at the University of South Carolina, is the recipient of the 2023 TCI Distinguished Service Award. Dr. Huhns was the Chair of the Department of Computer Science and Engineering. He is a Fellow of the IEEE, a Fellow of the Asia-Pacific Artificial Intelligence Association, a Fellow of the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence, and a Senior Member of the ACM. Dr. Huhns is an associate editor for IEEE Internet Computing. He was on the editorial boards for over a dozen technical journals. He is a founder and board member for the International Foundation for Cooperative Information Systems and the International Foundation for Autonomous Agents and Multiagent Systems. He has chaired and served on the advisory boards and program committees for numerous international conferences and workshops.


Dr. Michael (Misha) Rabinovich, Professor in the EECS department at Case Western Reserve University, is the recipient of the 2022 TCI Distinguished Service Award. Dr. Rabinovich has had considerable impact on the distributed systems and networking community. He has also made several contributions to the TCI community, serving on the TCI executive committee 2012-16. He served as editor-in-chief of IEEE Internet Computing. He has also been PC Co-chair for International World Wide Web conference and an associate editor for the ACM Transactions on the Web. Dr. Rabinovich has received research Excellence Awards in AT&T Labs and EECS Department, CWRU as well as several best paper awards. He is also a leader in creating new research opportunities for the community (writing books, patents, publishing high quality papers, receiving external funding).


Dr. Schahram Dustdar, Full Professor of Computer Science at TU Wien, Austria, is the recipient of the 2021 TCI Distinguished Service Award. Dr. Dustdar is on the editorial board of IEEE Internet Computing and IEEE Computer. He is the  founding co-Editor-in-Chief of ACM Transactions on Internet of Things (ACM TIoT) as well as Editor-in-Chief of Computing (Springer). He is also an Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Services Computing, IEEE Transactions on Cloud Computing, ACM Computing Surveys, ACM Transactions on the Web, and ACM Transactions on Internet Technology.


Dr. Weisong Shi, Charles H. Gershenson Distinguished Faculty Fellow and Professor of Computer Science at Wayne State University, is the recipient of the 2020 TCI Distinguished Service Award. Dr. Shi was the founding steering committee chair of the flagship conference – ACM/IEEE Symposium on Edge Computing (SEC). Dr. Shi also served as the chair of the Technical Committee on the Internet (TCI) during 2012-2016.


Dr. Fred Douglis, Chief Research Scientist at Perspecta Labs, is the recipient of the 2019 TCI Distinguished Service Award. Dr. Douglis formed the Technical Committee on the Internet (TCI) and served as the chair during 1997-2000. Dr. Douglis also served as the Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Internet Computing during 2007–2010 and has been on its editorial board since 1999.