Call for 2024 TCI Rising Star Award nominations

The TCI Rising Star Award is given for high-impact technical contributions to the Internet research community (as defined by the TCI scope) to an individual in the first 10 years of his or her career. The award will be announced and presented to the awardee during ACM/IEEE Symposium on Edge Computing (SEC) in Rome, Italy in December 2024.

Examples of contributions and supporting evidence include but are not limited to the following:

  • High-impact technical publications in conferences and journals relevant to TCI’s scope, such as SEC, NSDI, SIGCOMM, IEEE Internet Computing, ACM Transactions on Internet Technologies, and others, particularly those recognized with best paper awards. (Include number of citations.)
  • Software or other research assets that are widely available and widely used (include the number of downloads and citations to the asset).
  • Recognition by peers and others including (for example) awards; leadership responsibilities; service on technical program committees, editorial boards, etc.; influence on standards or other commercial activity; and competitive funding success.

Eligibility: Nominees must be active researchers in academia or industry, whose last academic degree was conferred less than 10 years ago (as of the nomination deadline).

The nomination package must include:

  1. The current CV of the nominee;
  2. A nominating letter (limited to 500 words) highlighting the nominee’s technical contributions; and
  3. A support letter from another individual (not the nominee or the nominator) of no more than 250 words.

Nominators and supporters from institutions other than the nominee’s will be given greater weight in the selection process. Self-nominations are not accepted.

Nominations must be submitted by email to by August 31st, 2024 (anywhere on Earth).

The evaluation committee for 2024 consists of the following members:

Qun Li (College of William & Mary)
George Pallis (University of Cyprus)
Weisong Shi, Chair (University of Delaware)

The committees reserve the right to seek external opinions during the processing of candidates applications.

Past Awardees

Dr. Hoang Dinh, a faculty member at the University of Technology Sydney (UTS), Australia, is the recipient of the 2023 TCI Rising Star Award. Dr. Hoang Dinh received his Ph.D. degree from the School of Computer Science and Engineering, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, in 2016. Over the last ten years, he has significantly contributed to advanced wireless communications and networking systems. His excellent record evidences this with one patent filed by Apple Inc., three books, eight book chapters, nearly 80 IEEE Q1 journals, and more than 60 flagship IEEE conference papers in communications and networking.


Dr. Zehui Xiong, Assistant Professor at Singapore University of Technology and Design (SUTD) and Honorary Adjunct Senior Research Scientist with Alibaba-NTU Singapore Joint Research Institute, Singapore, is the recipient of the 2022 TCI Rising Star Award. Dr. Xiong received his PhD degree in April 2020. He has an amazing publication record with over 4500 citations in Google Scholar, and he has received over 10 Best Paper Awards. Dr. Xiong is very active in the community. His services include serving as an Editor or Guest Editor for many leading journals. Dr. Xiong is also the recipient of IEEE TCSC Early Career Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing.


Dr. Blesson Varghese, Senior Lecturer at Queen’s University Belfast, is the recipient of the 2021 TCI Rising Star Award. Dr. Varghese’s research interests are in addressing system-oriented challenges in edge/fog and cloud computing systems and developing use cases that can benefit from the edge/fog computing paradigm.


Dr. Roland M. van Rijswijk-Deij, Principal Scientist at NLnet Labs and Associate Professor at University of Twente, is the recipient of the 2020 TCI Rising Star Award.