TCHPC Awards


IEEE CS TCHPC Early Career Researchers Award for Excellence in High Performance Computing – 2024

The IEEE Computer Society TCHPC Early Career Researchers Award for Excellence in High Performance Computing recognizes up to 3 individuals who have made outstanding, influential, and potentially long-lasting contributions in the field of high-performance computing within 5 years of receiving their PhD degree as of January 01 of the year of the award. It is sponsored by the IEEE Computer Society Technical Community on High Performance Computing (TCHPC) and its member Technical Committees:

  • Technical Committee on Parallel Process (TCPP)
  • Technical Committee on Computer Communications (TCCC)
  • Technical Committee on Distributed Processing (TCDP)
  • Technical Committee on Cloud Computing (TCCLD)
  • Task Force on Rebooting Computing (TFRC)
  • Technical Committee on Computational Life Sciences (TCCLS)


A candidate must be nominated by member(s) of the community. An individual may nominate at most one candidate for this award. The nomination application must be submitted to The nomination form will request the following details:

  1. Name, email, and institution of the person making the nomination. Please note that self-nominations are not permitted.
  2. Name, email, and institution of the candidate for whom the award is recommended.
  3. A nomination statement not to exceed 500 words describing why the nominee is highly deserving of the award. Note that since the award is for outstanding contributions in HPC, the statement and supporting letters should address what the contributions are and why they are outstanding and significant. 
  4. Name and emails of 2 individuals who have agreed to provide letters supporting the nomination.
  5. Two letters of support from persons other than the nominator.
  6. CV of the nominee.

Important Dates

Nomination Deadline:       July 15 July 24, 2024 
Notification:                      August 15, 2024

Award Selection Committee:

  • Sunita Chandrasekaran, University of Delaware, US
  • Johannes Doerfert, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, US
  • Wenqian Dong, Florida International University, US
  • Alba Cristina Magalhaes Alves De Melo, University of Brasilia, Brazil
  • Verónica G. Melesse Vergara, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, US (Chair)
Note that members of the selection committee cannot be nominators or provide support letters.

Award & Presentation Note

Awardees will be presented a plaque and provided with complimentary IEEE and IEEE CS membership for one year. They will also be recognized by IEEE Computer Society and TCHPC websites, newsletters, and archives. The awards will be presented at the SC24 conference that will be held in Atlanta, Georgia USA during November 17–22, 2024. Details of the conference can be found at

For more information, please send an email to


SC23 Student Travel Awards Applications for Graduate and Undergraduate Students – Deadline Oct. 6

TCHPC will be sponsoring travel awards to students for attending the SC23 conference scheduled for Denver, CO from November 12 – 17. We are looking to fund a diverse group including graduate and undergraduate students, from USA and international universities. Preference will be given to students who are first-time attendees and/or from minority or underrepresented groups, and who are giving a presentation at SC23. The travel award will cover travel costs up to $1000 for recipients from North American Universities and $1500 for recipients outside of North America.


To apply please fill out the form at:

Students receiving the award are expected to (i) attend the TCHPC career panel and (ii) complete a post conference survey on their experiences at SC23.

The application will close on October 6th, 2023 (AOE, firm deadline). We will send notifications by October 20th, 2023. If you have any questions regarding the travel award, please send an email to