Want to know more about:

Important Information

North Cyprus (Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus) is only recognized by Turkey. We highly recommend the ICALT participants to check the travel information/advisory from their government before deciding to join the conference in-person or online.


Information from the US Government: Since 1974, the southern part of Cyprus has been under the control of the government of the Republic of Cyprus. The northern part of Cyprus, administered by Turkish Cypriots, proclaimed itself the “Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus” (“TRNC”) in 1983. The United States does not recognize the “TRNC,” nor does any country other than Turkey. A buffer zone patrolled by the UN Peacekeeping Force in Cyprus, separates the two sides. For U.S. citizen travelers:

  • Enter and exit the Republic of Cyprus ONLY at Larnaca and Paphos airports and at the seaports of Limassol, Larnaca, and Paphos. The Republic of Cyprus does not consider entry at Ercan Airport in the north to be a “legal” entrance into Cyprus.
  • You cannot receive a residency permit from the Republic of Cyprus to reside in the area north of the UN buffer zone.

Information from the UK Government: The self-declared ‘Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus’ is not recognised by the British government and FCDO’s ability to offer consular assistance there is limited.

You can use any crossing point to move between the north and south of the island. The crossing point at Ledra Palace and Ledra/Lokmaci Street can only be used by pedestrians.

If you enter the Republic of Cyprus through the north (such as through Ercan Airport), authorities will consider you to have entered illegally. You could be:

  • fined for illegal entry
  • refused entry to or exit from the Republic of Cyprus
  • prevented from crossing back into the north of Cyprus